Georgia Bio Industry Growth Awards

Presented to two people who have made an extraordinary contribution to the growth of the life sciences industry in Georgia.

2021 Winners

  • EJane Caraway, Director of Life Sciences, Georgia Department of Economic Development

  • Susan Shows, President, Georgia Research Alliance

Georgia Bio Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to an individual who has dedicated their career to advancing innovation, entrepreneurship, and economic development in the life sciences industry of Georgia.

2021 Winner

  • Dr. David Lee, Vice President for Research, University of Georgia


Phoenix Award

Presented to two Georgia honorees who have fostered innovation and collaboration within the community in Georgia and beyond in response to the coronavirus pandemic. This award is sponsored by the Metro Atlanta Chamber.


2021 Winners

  • U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • Global Health Crisis Coordination Center, a division of the Center for Global Health Innovation

Deals of the Year Awards

Presented to one or more companies or institutions for the most significant financial or commercial transactions closed from January 1, 2020 -December 31, 2020, based on the importance of the transaction to Georgia’s life sciences industry.

2021 Winners


  • CryoLife’s Acquisition of Ascyrus Medical


Economic Development

  • Medline Industries

  • RWDC Industries


Private Financing

  • VERO Biotech


Public Financing

  • Georgia Cancer Center

  • Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta | Emory University | Georgia Institute of Technology

Georgia Bio Community Awards

Presented to a small number of individuals, companies or institutions whose contributions to Georgia’s life sciences community are worthy of special recognition.

2021 Winners

  • Carl Clark, Augusta University

  • Nancy Paris, Georgia CORE

  • James Rains, Jackson Medical & Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Shaker Reddy, Metaclipse Therapeutics


Innovation Awards

Presented to the department, institution, company or individuals who are forging new ground by thinking outside traditional paradigms to create some unique technology.

2021 Winners

  • 3D printed COVID-19 testing nasal swabs, Dental College of Georgia

  • PPE Face Shields, Saldana Research Group | Global Center for Medical Innovation | Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Blockchain in Patient Trials, Patientory, Inc.

Legislator of the Year Awards

Presented to state legislators for their support of the life sciences industry in Georgia. 

2021 Winners

  • The Honorable Dean Burke, MD, Georgia State Senate

  • The Honorable David Knight, Georgia House of Representatives

Emerging Leader of the Year Awards

Presented to young individuals who have made a significant impact on the life sciences industry through their studies or employment.

2021 Winners

  • Brian Jurgielewicz, University of Georgia

  • Tarianna Stewart, Ph.D., IBM

Teacher of the Year Awards

Presented to a Georgia biotechnology high school teacher who exhibits excellence in STEM teaching and support for the biotechnology pathway.

2021 Winner

  • Dr. Brittney Denier Cantrell, Denmark High School

Click Here for a list of previous award winners.
Click here for a list of Award Categories.
Click here to View and/or Download Photos from previous dinners.



Chris McKinney, Augusta University (Chair)
Heather Creran, Health Acuity
Derek Eberhart, University of Georgia, Innovation Gateway

Sherry Farrugia, Global Center for Medical Innovation

Jamie Graham, Kilpatrick Townsend

David Hartnett, Metro Atlanta Chamber
Lee Herron, Georgia Research Alliance
Russ Medford, Covanos, Inc.
Richard Otto, Forest Partners